SBC V – Coming Along Nicely

The nickel part all cut out (with the insides artfully placed next to it)
The nickel part all cut out (with the insides artfully placed next to it)

I’ve been slowly working away at my Super Bowl. The nickel piece was cut out. Then I formed it to the bowl. This involved a general forming over the stake I used to planish the bowl, then pushing it into the bowl itself using the handle of my chasing hammer. I must admit, I did also mallet it into the bowl  little and then gently form it over the outside just to get out a couple of kinks.

Then came the scary part – cutting the bowl. I had to figure out how to cut the

Getting the nickel to fit the bowl - not as easy as you think.
Getting the nickel to fit the bowl – not as easy as you think.

bronze with out messing up the edge. It had to have enough coverage to hold the nickel piece and to put rivets in, but it also couldn’t cover any of the inside holes or stick out funny anywhere. This was tricky. I finally figured out that I should tape the nickel piece in to the bowl, then drill rivet holes on one side at a time. I then took off the tape and traced the nickel piece inside and out. I took the nickel piece off then drew between the inside and outside lines, leaving tabs for the rivets. Tricky, but it worked.

Rivet holes and the trace marks.
Rivet holes and the trace marks.

Now both halves of the bowl are cut out, filed, and sanded. I now have to figure out what to do for a base. That was my goal for today, but I couldn’t decided so I sanded instead. It rests nicely without a base, and I’m considering leaving it that way. But then I want it to sit above the table. So I might make three little legs for it to rest on. I’m torn. What do think I should do?

I love the way the bottom side looks. Definitely worth the extra time.
I love the way the bottom side looks. Definitely worth the extra time.
The inside. Don't worry, those brass pieces are just holding it in place. There will be real rivets after it's done.
The inside. Don’t worry, those brass pieces are just holding it in place. There will be real rivets after it’s done.
What do you think? Should there be a base or just let it sit there?
What do you think? Should there be a base or just let it sit there?
Bowl inspired (and salvaged!) pendant.
Bowl inspired (and salvaged!) pendant.

While I was worrying about that, I decided to make a pendant out of part of the bowl that was cut out. It still had the tracing marks on it and it inspired me. It just needs soldered and darkened. So I did get something done!

4 thoughts on “SBC V – Coming Along Nicely

Comments are closed.