SBC V – The Design Process

Original idea sketches with the later geometric sketch added.
Original idea sketches with the later geometric sketch added.

Last year (hehe meaning a couple of weeks ago…) I began working on the 2013 Super Bowl Challenge and I got the main body of my bowl to the planished stage. I had a basic idea of what I wanted the design to be, but now it needs to be finalized so I can start the next stage of creating.

I know that I’m going to cut parts out (duh) and then replace them with nickel portions that are cut-out like my net pendant or Memento Cervidae were. I originally thought of doing these parts as an organic river-like shape, but then decided to go with a more geometric shape like I normally work in. So I started making paper mock-ups of these cut-out parts so that I could play around with them and decide exactly how I want them to be placed.

Windy river in the middle of the bowl.
Windy river in the middle of the bowl.

I wasn’t completely happy with these shapes, so I thought I’d go ahead and try a windy river shape. Instead of making it three pronged like in the original design, I went with just one piece that cuts the main bowl body in two. I didn’t like it as much cutting through the middle of the bowl, but then I moved it to one side and it it clicked. I can’t guarantee that this will be the final design, but that’s where I’m leaning right now.

Which design do you like the best so far? Have you begun designing your own bowl for the SBC?

Three pronged attack like the original geometric idea.
Three pronged attack like the original geometric idea.
The geometric design that I think works better than the tree pieces...
The geometric design that I think works better than the three pieces…
Although I'm kinda digging this one too...
Although I’m kinda digging this one too…
And then the tweak that made me like this design more, mostly because of the way it then fits into the bowl, though that's impossible to convey correctly in a photograph.
And then the tweak that made me like this design more, mostly because of the way it then fits into the bowl, though that’s impossible to convey correctly in a photograph. Plus my hand’s in the way…