Earrings In Progress

While I was at the show last weekend, an idea for earrings popped into my head. When I started making them I thought, why make one pair when I can make three? So I’ve got the basics down for three pairs – one brass, one copper, one silver. They’re made with thick gauge metal and will be textured and darkened once I finish some basic clean-up on them. The jury’s still out on whether or not to make the square shape.

All three pairs plus the pattern and the insides that were cut out.

And I couldn’t have done it without my trusty sidekick…

6 thoughts on “Earrings In Progress

  1. Wow, I didn’t know that would be the most interesting part of this post ;^)
    It’s a french curve. I have a set of three that I got at staples where they have other outmoded tools like oval templates, compass sets, and slide rules (OK they don’t really have slide rules.) I was one of the last classes at my college to have a 2D design class where we used tools like this and ruling pens and other non-computer related design tools. But they really help you create consistent curves.
    Here’s the wikipedia of french curve – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/French_curve

    Like

  2. Hi Wendy, I’m curious about how you come up with and capture your ideas before working with metal. Do you usually use simple sketches, like the picture you show here, or do you also use more elaborate design sketches? I’m a budding jewelry artist and am curious to learn how experienced artists capture their ideas before making them jewelry realities.
    Thanks so much!

    Like

Comments are closed.