Transforming Photos

Entropy II Ring (before) ©2012 sterling silver, garnet

You may have noticed the photos of my work here and on my website, on Etsy, etc. Wondering who took them? It was me! I have a light tent set-up and I painstakingly photo each piece from a variety of angles to document them. When it’s time to post them online, I have to fix them up a little. No, I don’t change the actual pieces, but things like contrast and color tone are fixed to look more dynamic and to better reflect how the pieces actually look. I also take out all the little scratches that end up on my photo background. That’s the worst part of the process.  I wanted to give you a little before and after just to give you a hint of the behind the scenes work I have to do.

Entropy II Ring (after) ©2012 WTEK sterling silver, garnet
Net earrings (before) ©2012 WTEK sterling silver (I rotated it for better comparison)
Net Earrings (after) ©2012 sterling silver

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Ngaru (before) ©2012 WTEK broze, nickel, brass
Ngaru (after) ©2012 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass

4 thoughts on “Transforming Photos

  1. Wow Wendy the transformation is amazing! I too keep fidgeting with my photoshop software but I guess I still need to learn tricks to get better pics 🙂 The way the net earrings have transformed is beautiful .

    Like

  2. @Cooky – I’m really not an expert on photoshop and I’m not sure how to do a tutorial online about it. But I will think about how to go about it.
    @custompastelportraits – Thanks!
    @Nayna – Thanks also! I really got better at the whole process when I did a non-jewelry project for Art Every Day Month where I used a lot of digital imaging. Using it in another context over and over again gave me a better grasp of how it all works.

    Like

Comments are closed.