No Motivation in the Heat

Cover
Cover (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s been hot. REALLY hot here lately. Sure most of the country is in a massive heat wave right now (including my hubby’s sister who’s been without power all week.) These are the days when I remember why I don’t like summer.

So I haven’t been very motivated to much of anything. I have been working on indoor, behind the scenes projects. Those don’t make good blog posts or tweets though. But I’ve been reading mostly in my down time.

Moonwalking with Einstein is pretty interesting so far. It hasn’t actually taught very many memory techniques, but I like his research into memory in the past. I never really thought about how hard it would’ve been to read a scroll. I mean, I knew that there used to be no spaces between words or punctuation from my Art History classes. But I guess I just never pictured what exactly that would mean. Imagine a 60′ scroll with now spaces, punctuation, or even numbers in the margins to mark your place by.

So once again I’m thankful that we live in this age rather than in one where I would have to be outside in the heat and humidity using stone tools and reading scrolls. I hope to be able to get back into the studio this weekend and crank out some more new work. Maybe I should get a water ice first though…

5 thoughts on “No Motivation in the Heat

  1. Funny how the heat works differently on us, Wendy. Seems my muse has determined that, since I am hot and sweaty anyway, might as well enamel. A water ice does sound lovely, though.

    Like

  2. Feeling your pain, literally. It’s the busiest time in the gallery where I sell my jewelry and i need to make more, but it’s so damn hot! And try using a torch with fans blowing all over the place…I’m ready for fall here in upstate NY

    Like

  3. Additional curious factoid gleaned from Moonwalking–early books were really just memory-aids for performance of memorized texts. Before writing, there was no way to preserve thoughts but to remember them. The earliest books were rolled scrolls, with no more points of access than a cassette tape, and no indexes, tables of contents, or even pages to flip.

    Like

Comments are closed.