June Artist Interview – Amber Kane

Last year I met Amber Kane at Foundry Day in Boiling Springs, PA. She is a member of the PA Guild of Craftsmen and makes really funky and cool fiberwear. I see her scarves all the time at the Guild Store, and I love that she adds interesting touches like brass tubing to them. You can find her online at her blog Fabricated Ends and on Etsy.

 

Handwoven scarf © Amber Kane

1. How did you get started in your craft? (using your media)

I’ve always been a maker, for as long as I can remember I enjoyed creating. When I was really young my grandmother taught me how to knit and embroider. I really dove into what I do now five years ago. While in college I took a weaving class, which I enjoyed but I hadn’t found my own voice. Finally, once I purchased my own Nilus Leclerc loom and abandoned rules, I began to find my own style and voice through my work.

2. What has been inspiring/influencing your work lately?

Handwoven scarf © Amber Kane

I’m really connected to the materials, the idea of mixed media and combining textures. I’m all about the way that things feel and look together. I enjoy trying different combinations and techniques to create each piece. My work is about bringing joy, confidence, and comfort into women’s lives. I want women to wear my work, hold their head high and walk confidently into any room. Confidence and joy are contagious.

3. Who are your favorite artists in your field?

I enjoy the work of Sheila Hicks and Anni Albers. They were so forward thinking in their work, and created amazing pieces. I also just enjoy looking at a large variety of work, and taking bits of pieces from a variety of mediums and expressing them in my own style.

I have also always been a lover of the painter Chuck Close.

Handwoven scarf © Amber Kane

4. What is your favorite customer quote or story?

Each one of my scarves comes with a story, about the process and the conversation that I had with the piece while creating it. One customer was totally drawn to one of my pieces, and when she received the story behind the scarf she shared that she began to cry. The story behind the scarf was exactly what she needed to hear at that time in her life.

5. What is your favorite piece of art or fine craft that you own?

My mom just bought me a dress from Rebe, which I really love.

3 thoughts on “June Artist Interview – Amber Kane

  1. I totally love the design on those scarves. They’re unique or one-of-a-kind and they exude such personality from the artist. Great work!

    Like

Comments are closed.