Working Outside Your Medium

Scenes from a fold forming workshop.

Getting to play with glass the other week, I was reminded how important it is to explore outside your medium. Working with different materials means approaching things differently. There are different techniques that you use. Each material moves in a different way and you have to take its idiosyncrasies into consideration.

When you work with a new

Purple Door © 2011 Deena Ball 4" x 4" - watercolor on bristol
Deena teaches all kinds of workshops including a plein air painting class.

material, at even the beginning level, it helps you approach your own work differently. You might figure out a different way of making something. You might even get new ideas about combining materials. Or you might just reappreciate the processes you use everyday.

What’s a great way to try out a new medium or technique? Take a workshop like those offered through the PA Guild of Craftsmen. Or look online for a tutorial. Or read a book or magazine. You never know what you might get out of it.

4 thoughts on “Working Outside Your Medium

  1. Totally agree with you on this topic Wendy! I worked with glass for years, discovered metal and what a ride! I think that doing stained glass windows made it easier for me to approach the construction part of metalwork and lent to some different approaches. When one experiments, reads books, takes a workshop, or just tries something new, well, you just never know how many doors of possibilities that can open.

    Like

  2. I looked at your Flickr site, Wendy and liked your work very much. The craftsmanship is beautiful and your style is unique. I like how much ‘attitude’ your pieces have, and the constructions are intriguing.

    Thanks for the Like on my blog, I am glad to have discovered you.

    By the way, I”m an old Pittsburgh girl, I see you live in PA as well. I am trying ot locate my old colege roommate who is from Doylestown. Do you know anyone named Mimi Junkin? (Maiden name).
    She would be, like me, in her 60s now.

    Like

Comments are closed.