Space: The Final Frontier

Veil Nebula via NASA, ESA, and the Hubble Heritage (STScI/AURA)-ESA/Hubble Collaboration Acknowledgment: J. Hester (Arizona State University)

In my quest to bring more texture into my work, I seem to have found ways to mimic moons, asteroids, and other rocky, barren landscapes in my work. Has this outer space connection been on purpose? No. Yet it keeps popping up.

Space both attracts me to the wonders it holds and scares the crap out of me at the same time. (It’s kinda like the eyeball thing.) I always thought we’d be further along in

Dark Side of the Moon ©2010 WTEK sterling silver

the whole exploration thing by now, though I know I wouldn’t be signing up to get into an interstellar capsule even if we had one.

I guess it’s the beauty, the unknown worlds (and perhaps cultures) and of course all the sci-fi I’m addicted to that unconsciously permeates my designs. (Yes, more than one piece of mine has been likened to Star Trek.) Who knows what we’ll find out in the cosmos, but I’m happy letting its limitless possibilities creep into my work.

4 thoughts on “Space: The Final Frontier

Comments are closed.