Let the Hammers Ring in the New Year!

Took this awesome action shot and then realized I'm wearing the same shirt as my avatar. I really do own other shirts!

As you can guess by the title, I was in the studio over the holiday weekend pounding away at some metal.  Inspired by the video I shared last week and my renewed interest in bowl making, I decided to start work on some bowls… and this time I decided to raise!

I had been thinking about ways to create more dynamism in the bowl edges, so I thought about an offset base.  You can’t get this just by sinking, so I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to start raising again.  It came out brilliantly and I can’t wait to start working on the other sections that I’ll be adding (probably some fold formed nickel.)  And this time I don’t have to worry about a base because it stands on its own (oooh, ahhh!)

The initial sinking of the bronze sheet.
Bottom view after first raising round. You can see the offset base.
View mid-round so you can see the way the angle changes.
Inside view after raising and bouging it the way I want it. The bottom puffs inward.
Side view so you can see the cool angling of the bowls edge.

2 thoughts on “Let the Hammers Ring in the New Year!

Comments are closed.