Year End Wrap-Up

Memory & Shadow - Super Bowl III ©2011

It’s that week.  The one that is full of reminiscences and future projections.  That’s right – the week before New Year’s Eve!  Today I will give you a glance back at all of my 2011 accomplishments.  Later this week we’ll touch on goals and maybe something fun like Top Ten Weirdest Search Terms.  We’ll see…

Wendy’s 2011 Accomplishments

  • Got into both PA Guild shows I applied to
  • Started my merchandise shop
  • Invited to join the Lebanon Valley Art Studio Tour
  • Sold my first piece overseas (and my second!)
  • Vice-President of the Lancaster Designer Craftsmen chapter of the PA Guild of Craftsmen
  • Asked to judge the Fine Metals category at the Hempfield High School Art Show
  • Memory & Shadow was juried into Art of the State: Pennsylvania 2011
  • Gained representation at the Arts Barn and the Michener Museum Shop
  • Accepted into the DE Art Museum Holiday House Tour show
  • Twist (wall piece #5) ©2011 WTEK nickel, brass, found steel screen

    Twist was in the 2011 Community Art Exhibition at the Lancaster Museum of Art

  • Self published my first book, Better Know Your Hammer
  • Asked to write a technical article for Art Jewelry magazine
  • 3 of my wall pieces were accepted in the Crafted exhibition at Studio B
  • Developed two new workshops – Rivet Pendant & Sinking a Bowl
  • Gust won the Best Style award at Crafted
  • Published BKYH 2012 calendar
  • Accepted into the DCCA Alternatives Holiday Craft Show
  • Trunk show at Veleska
  • Sold my first Metalwork of the Month piece
  • Accepted into Handmade Holidays at Some Things Looming
  • Memory & Shadow juried into Craft Forms 2011
  • Won a $100.00 grant from the LDC
  • Taught two workshops – Fold Forming & Rivet Pendant

So as you can see, I had quite a busy year!  I hit a few of my career goals this year, even if I didn’t make all of my yearly goals happen (more about that in my next post.)