Craft Forms 2011

Entrance to the Craft Forms 2011 exhibition

This past weekend was a whirlwind of activity for me!  There was so much going on that I couldn’t even make it to one of my openings – the one for Handmade Holidays 2 at Some Things Looming.  If you were there, let us know how it was, I’m sure it was awesome!

Where I did go was to the DCCA Alternatives Holiday Craft Show and the juror’s talk and meet the artists event at Craft Forms 2011.  Craft Forms is an amazing show (like always) and I’m so happy and honored that Memory & Shadow was chosen.  There are many amazing works in this exhibition including one of my favorite cuffs ever, Winter Night Bracelet by Bongsang Cho.  There were great pieces in wood, ceramics, metal, fibers, polymer clay, glass, and even some found objects (including a quilt with appliqued band-aids.)  There was even a tea strainer shaped like a chasing hammer by Sung Yeoul Lee.

Memory & Shadow in situ

The show juror, Elizabeth Agro gave a talk about the state of craft right now and how it’s becoming very relevant today.  She also discussed how changing the landscape of craft is right now, how the traditional forms and media are adapting to this era.  There were a variety of pieces that were created with computer design and/or built by them (in the case of some CAD pieces of jewelry and computer looms) in the exhibition.  But it all seemed to work together.  I was a bit sad as she talked about the decline of hollowware since my heart lies with bowl making.  But she did say that artists need to find new ways of making these dying modes relevant to today.

My table at the Alternatives Holiday Craft Show

All in all it is a fantastic exhibition and I am glad I was able to meet some of the other participating artists.  The exhibition at Wayne Art Center in Wayne, PA runs until January 21, 2012 and admission is free.  Right now there are also two other great exhibitions there – the Philagraphika Invitational Portfolio where local artists are invited to work with master printers at area print shops to create original, limited edition fine art prints (Judith Schaechter is one of the artists this year!) and Green from the Get Go: International Contemporary Basketmakers.  The basket exhibition has work from around the world and it is great to see how many different forms basketmaking can take.

Artists setting up in the lobby of the DCCA

The Friday before the talk, I was in Wilmington, DE (my new favorite city) at the DCCA‘s Alternatives Holiday Craft Show.  There was a good mix of art and craft with a high level of craftsmanship.  It was also a great turnout, though most of my sales were after 9pm (how often do I get to say that?!)  It was a good mix of older and younger patrons and everyone seemed out to have a good time.  Another great experience over the weekend.  Needless to say, I did a lot of resting yesterday after all the driving, schmoozing, and staying up late.