Finished Collar and a New Tool

Surface gage I got for cheap and in "like new" condition on eBay FTW!

Woot, I finished another collar on Thursday and I have some photos to share with you.  But first I want to show you my newest tool.

I have been looking for one of these since I left college, but I didn’t know what it was called.  I finally found it by searching on eBay for “scribe” and learned that it is called a “surface gage” (that’s right, without a “u”.)  I use it to scribe a line so that I can cut the lip of a bowl evenly.  Before I had to make sure that I could use my calipers in the center punched hole in the bottom, which meant it had to be on the inside and I’d have to leave it there and figure out how to cover it, etc.

.

And now the collar (it still needs a name, any ideas?):

Collar VIII ©2011 WTEK sterling silver, pyrite
detail from the larger fin - Collar VIII ©2011 WTEK sterling silver, pyrite
Back detail of the larger fin - Collar VIII ©2011 WTEK sterling silver, pyrite
Smaller fin detail - Collar VIII ©2011 WTEK sterling silver, pyrite Doesn't that look like and angry eye?

4 thoughts on “Finished Collar and a New Tool

Comments are closed.