Artist Interview – Me!

This past year I’ve been interviewing other artists here on the blog. In August I may be a few days later than usual in posting the artist of the month because of when the Chase Center show falls. So, today I decided that I would be the artist interviewed.

1. How did you get started in your craft? (using your media)

Salmo's Leap ©2011 nickel, found steel parts

While I did take a jewelry class in high school, it wasn’t until my sophomore year of college that I knew metal was my media of choice.  During my metalsmithing class while hammering out my final project, I had that “aha!” moment when I knew that this is what I was meant to do with my life.

2. What has been inspiring/influencing your work lately?

Lately the idea of connection and building up layers has been a major influence in my work.  I’ve been working on more non-jewelry pieces lately where I can layer and layer without having to worry about whether something will still be wearable.

3. Who are your favorite artists in your field?

Silver Cuff by Art Smith

Recently I’ve been looking back to Art Smith‘s work.  It was big and modern and he worked a lot with cuffs and collars.

As far as living metalworkers go, I’d have to say that David Huang is my number 1 favorite right now.  His vessels are amazing and have their own spiritual presence.  The level of craftsmanship the man has combined with his beautiful design skills is truly mindblowing.  And to top it off, reading interviews and his Facebook page updates he seems to be a humble and approachable person.  In some ways that’s just as important as his artistic talent.

4. What is your favorite customer quote or story?

I think that my favorite customer quote right now was when a woman said to her friend that my work “does good things for the eyeballs.”

5. What is your favorite piece of art or fine craft that you own?

Right now I’d say that my favorite piece of craft I own is a collection of five small ceramic vessels I have on a bookshelf in my front room.  I’ve had them since my grandmother died five years ago and I think that a few of them were made by my grandfather.  They’re so tiny, but well formed, I just am really drawn to them.

2 thoughts on “Artist Interview – Me!

  1. my grand mother made my favorite piece, a quilt. So what tough questions did not get asked? seems like the interviewer took it easy on you ;’)

    Like

Comments are closed.