Patio Process

When my husband and I moved into our house, one of the main drawing points was the deck out back.  After having to repaint it once and realizing that the former owners installed it themselves (huge gap issues!), as soon as the boards started popping loose we knew we had to get rid of it.

I had made the declaration that I was never going to paint a deck again, so we looked at other options.  We decided on stamped concrete.  It was really cool watching the process.  I took some photos so you can see the transition from deck to patio.

The original deck when we first moved in.
My husband and I ripped the old deck out ourselves.
They cleared it and then put a gravel base down.
The edge was marked off and rebar put down.
They poured the concrete - we chose a brick red base with a charcoal release.
The release was put down and then they stamped the pattern in.
Finally, they cleaned the release off, cut two lines in it to help keep it from cracking, and then sealed it.
So much more relaxing than having to watch out for loose boards and where your chair legs are!

One thought on “Patio Process

  1. Your patio looks great Wendy! We have so many mosquitos and blackflies up here in the Maine woods that we have a screened in porch on the back of our home. It’s my favorite place to be in the summer.

    Like

Comments are closed.