Art of the State 2011

Art of the State: Pennsylvania 2011

This past Saturday was the opening of Art of the State: Pennsylvania 2011 at the State Museum in Harrisburg, PA.  There were so many people there!  All of the work (as usual)

Here I am standing with my piece wearing my new necklace.

was excellent and there was a good mix of media and styles.  The awards ceremony took place before the opening started where we found out that the awards juror added two Honorable Mentions to each of the five categories because the level of work was so impressive.

My Super Bowl got super placement right in the middle of a space at the main entrance to the gallery with a spotlight highlighting the wonderful shadows it makes.  It was such an honor to have a piece in this exhibition that

Look at the awesome shadows! (The lighting is great for viewing art in person, but lousy for taking photos)

showcases the best of Pennsylvania’s artists.  Memory & Shadow is my favorite of the Super Bowls (so far) and I think it really shows how my work has grown both stylistically and technically.  I’m so proud of it and happy that it made it in!

Thank you to everyone who was able to make it to the opening.  I also got to meet up with Jeremiah Johnson who was one of the 8 other participants in my summer class in Ireland (15 years ago!) I took through Tyler School of Art.  He has two pieces in the show and was telling me about a great program he is a part of in Williamsport, PA that offers artist residencies.  I also got to meet some of the other artists/craftsmen and, of course, look at all the other work and sample wine from Allegro Vineyards.

My dad defending against Wilt Chamberlain. This is in the kids zone next to the main gallery and I just had to add it. That's life sized.

I really recommend that anyone who will be in the Harrisburg area this summer stop by and see the show.  Pennsylvania is brimming with superb artists and this is a chance to see the breadth of work this commonwealth can produce.  It is on display at the State Museum in Harrisburg, PA through September 11th, 2011 which also happens to be Harrisburg’s Art Walk weekend.

If you can’t make it in person, you can also see the work from Art of the State on Flickr.

3 thoughts on “Art of the State 2011

  1. Hi Wendy,
    Congratulations on having your work shown at the museum…you must be beaming with pride!

    I absolutely love your work! Especially your fold forming pieces. Fold forming is my newest discovery in my jewelry making life, and much of my inspiration came from your work. I love your pieces on which you’ve done air chasing. Can you please tell me what that is…there is a dearth of information about air chasing on the internet. I love the free form organic look of the pieces.
    Thank you so much for sharing your work on the internet.
    Betsy Moore-Galinsky

    Like

    1. Thanks for the kind words, Betsy. You gave me a great idea for blog post! I’ll have to work something up and post about chasing over air soon. I’ll have to take some photos first though.

      Like

  2. I can’t wait for the post! This is the kind of metalwork that keeps me up late and makes me forget to eat.
    You should get a lot of traffic when you post it because, aside from references to Lewton-Brain’s book (which I plan on getting sooner or later), your blog and Etsy page are the only other Google results that mean anything.

    I think I’ll go to my studio and start folding and pounding on something…always feels good after a work day.

    Like

Comments are closed.