Artist Interview – Roberta Little

 
©Roberta Little mixed media piece
Roberta Little is an artist living just outside Lancaster, PA who works in multi-media.  She is also the founder of ShooFlyMoonPie, an organization to establish a cultural connection between Mississippi Gulf Coast and Southeastern Pennsylvania artists, and ArtSpeak, a program where established professional artisans share their craft with residents at the Lancaster County Youth Intervention Center.

1. How did you get started in your craft? (using your media)

I have been doing art for over thirty five years.   I began working on miniature books about nine years ago.  Working with paper in collage seems to have always been part of my artistic expression.  (I think I was a tree in a former life.)

2. What has been inspiring/influencing your work lately?

My work seems to come from many forms of inspiration.  For example, nature, women, and color.  Most recently, I seem to just be in love with texture.  (I am a touchy feely kind of person.)

3. Who are your favorite artists in your field?

@2011 Roberta Little mixed media necklace

As for favorite people in my field?  I can’t name one specifically, just all artists who produce uniquely expressed creations that give me wonder at human ingenuity.

4. What is your favorite customer quote or story?

When I first began making journal jewelry, I had just become a grandmother.  I used photos of my grandchildren on the pages of my journal so that I could brag and bore any passerby with every detail of their lives…I was and am insufferable!

5. What is your favorite piece of art or fine craft that you own?

I collect clay.  My favorite piece is a wall tile by Vickie Doucet.  It undulates and overlaps slabs of clay which seem to be constructed of leather.  It fools the eye and captures my imagination each time I look at it.