What Would Antiques Roadshow Say?

Last night I was flipping through the channels and I stopped on Antiques Roadshow.  I don’t usually watch this program, though when I worked Saturdays it was on the waiting room TV in the evening.  In my mind it seems like a show I’m not interested in, but when I watch it I always enjoy it.  Weird, huh?

Walter Anderson Linocut on Antiques Roadshow in Biloxi

I was thinking last night that I need to make more of an effort to watch this show.  They had a print by an artist, Walter Anderson, that I really liked.  People have all kinds of treasure hiding out in their homes and I’ve found cool artists when I’ve watched this show.  I actually first heard about Art Smith from seeing one of his collars on Antiques Roadshow.  You never know what you’ll see on this show.

It got me thinking, what would they say about my work?  Obviously my pieces aren’t antiques (yet) so I would have to imagine it in the future.  How would you feel if you saw someone talking about your work not knowing you were listening.  What would they say?  Would they talk about the things you think are important, or about the general climate of the time?  Who would they compare us to?

For a TV show this sure brought up a lot of questions for me.  I’ll try to watch it more often, I may even find more inspiring metalsmiths next time I watch!

3 thoughts on “What Would Antiques Roadshow Say?

    1. I see where you made the comparison between the two artists. For me, it was less about the subject matter and more about the rhythm and texture in Anderson’s piece.

      On a side note, I happened to turn on part two of the Biloxi series right when someone brought in a different piece of Anderson’s. Freaky.

      Like

Comments are closed.