Wall Art!

Wall Piece #1 ©2011 nickel, copper, brass

I’ve been working on some new ideas in the studio.  It took awhile to figure out something new, but working through some cuffs and a couple little rings to match the pendant I made last week gave me inspiration.

I’ve been thinking about making wall pieces for years now.  It just never seemed to happen.  I know that everyone is familiar with me as a jeweler, but I really wanted to do non-wearable objects when I was in college.  Usually this means bowls, though I have done a couple of other table objects.  But now I have a new way to get my work worn – Have your wall wear it!

Wall Piece #2 ©2011 nickel, copper, brass

Over the last few days I’ve taken some wonderful copper pieces that have been sitting around waiting for an idea and made two wall pieces.  They aren’t huge – one is around 4.5″ x 6.5″ and the other around 4.5″ x 7.5″ though I guess that is big compared to my jewelry.

Here are some quick snaps I took in the studio (on my wall.)  Let me know what you think.  Is this a good direction for me?  I still want to make jewelry, but this frees up some of bigger ideas that I can’t figure out how to make wearable.

PS – I am thinking about adding larger gemstones to some wall pieces.  Like, SUPER HUGE jaspers or agates.  Sound good?

2 thoughts on “Wall Art!

Comments are closed.