The Bear Only Looks Like It’s Hibernating

Black Bear mother and cubs in den,, hibernating
Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been seemingly hibernating over the winter, but I’ve been working on some projects, applying to show and exhibitions, and trying some new ideas out in the studio.  In some ways I feel like I’ve been a little demotivated, but when I look at what I’ve accomplished, I see that I’ve just been looking at it the wrong way.

I put a lot on my plate to get accomplished this year, and each goal has many steps until it can be attained.  Sometimes this can be frustrating, not being able to see the end yet.  I look at everything that I need to do and haven’t yet, rather than what I’ve already finished.  So I take the time to look over my past to do lists and my list of Things I’ve Accomplished in 2011 to keep me motivated.

I don’t have a list of goal progress for you yet.  I can say that I’ve focused on applying to craft shows that are higher end and mostly indoors this year.  This makes it more difficult to get into them, so it is very frustrating.  I’ve also set up three fold forming workshops so far this year, and one of them is outside of the PA Guild.  Now I need to focus on coming up with another workshop to teach.  I’ve been applying to some exhibitions, though once again this seems to be on the back burner right now.

I did get my work into another gallery (the Arts Barn in Schuylkill Haven, PA.)  For now, I’m taking that goal off the stove while I focus on some other projects.  Then I’ll go back to approaching new galleries.  Perhaps then they’ll be taking on new artists again.  I’ve opened my merchandise shop on Zazzle and have been working on my hammer book.  Both of these projects are ideas I had for some alternate streams of revenue to help out during those lean winter months next year.  With the price of silver now over $40 an ounce, I need all the help I can get.

So things have been happening, even if you haven’t been able to see them.  I’m waiting to hear back from a bunch of different applications, so I’m a little on edge right now.  At least the sun is shining!