How I Title My Work

Hmmm, I think I'll call it...Dragon's Kiss ©2011 sterling silver, moss agate

I have always been a firm believer in names.  So of course, I try to name all my creations.  Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to name all of them, and have some called Untitled or Collar VII.  I purposely do not name my cuffs (though some have nicknames for my price lists.)

Eye of Kali (formerly Collar VI) ©2011 sterling silver, agate

A few pieces started with the name before I even designed them, like my Elements series.  These were designed around the name, trying to represent each element.  Most of my work doesn’t get named this way.

Some of my most fitting names have developed while I was in the middle of working on a piece.  For whatever reason, I’ll start thinking of the in process piece by a particular name and it sticks.  Sometimes the name even influences the end design, altering it as I work on it.

If only I had a real name...Collar I ©2010 sterling silver & breceated jasper

The majority of my pieces are named after they are completed.  All three of my Super Bowls were named this way, as well as most of my collars (at least the ones that have names.)  Usually there is something in the stone, the shape of the design, or the texture or colors of the piece that influences the name.  Sometimes it’s based on myth, abstract ideas, or just because it works.  Then there’s the Moons of Jupiter series of necklaces that you helped me name.  Hay, maybe you can help me out with some of those collars…