Interview with This Year’s Girl

The Queen ©2010 Melissa Nucera 16x20 Inch Print

For April, I decided to interview one of my Etsy Team Handmade in PA members, This Year’s Girl (aka Melissa Nucera.)  She makes manipulated photographs and their ethereal images are mysterious and fairy tale like, so you know I dig them.  You can find her work on This Year’s Girl on Etsy and follow her on Twitter at @JanuaryWish.

1. How did you get started in your craft? (using your media)

I studied graphic arts in college, I chose that because it was the major that required the most art related classes 🙂 That’s where I first learned the software I use and how I began experimenting with my own photo-manipulation/digital collages.

I also took a photography class as an elective and fell in love with it.

2. What has been inspiring/influencing your work lately?

Lately, my greatest inspiration is my 3 year old daughter. Through her eyes, everything is magical.  It’s been wonderful revisiting all my favorite fairy tales with her.

3. Who are your favorite artists in your field?

The Wing Collector ©2011 Melissa Nucera 8x8 Inch Print

This is always a hard question, I have so many!  My favorite photo-manipulation artist is probably Michał Karcz. I love getting lost in his images.  www.michalkarcz.com/

4. What is your favorite customer quote or story?

Just recently a customer bought a set of my Metamorphosis prints for her new baby’s Nursery. She told me she planned to fully emerse their little one in artwork like mine. I’m always thrilled when anyone buys my art, but when I hear it’s going in a child’s room it always touches me 🙂

5. What is your favorite piece of art or fine craft that you own?

Our custom made wedding bands and engagement ring from singleBbeautiful.etsy.com,
and I ‘m in love with my many prints from TheNebulousKingdom.etsy.com.