Some Techniques I Want to Learn

This could totally be me! photo by Steven Fettig
  • Torch Fired Enameling – I’ve had to miss out on a couple different workshops offering this.  The timing was just off.
  • Leather working – People think my cuffs look like leather.  Also, it would be really cool to be able to make a leather shield.
  • Welding – Once again, there are some workshops this weekend through the Guild, but I don’t have the moulah right now.
  • Mokume Gane – I’m just curious about this because the Guild is also offering this workshop.  It would be cool to try it once.
  • Maybe something to help me with my chainmaking, soldering, stonesetting.  Like refresher courses.  We all need to brush up sometimes.

These are just some things that I’d like to learn.  There are so many different techniques out there, I feel like I could take classes for the rest of my life and not run out of things to learn.  What’s a workshop that you’ve been dying to take?

4 thoughts on “Some Techniques I Want to Learn

  1. From one metal nut to another – learning to weld was the best thing I’ve even done for my practice. The opportunities it opens up in process, practicality and expression are limitless. I did a 10 week night course at TAFE (I’m from Australia so TAFE is like a college where you pay as you go for short courses or trade skills) and learnt arc, mig and oxy properly. I had a friend show me arc and oxy before and used them for a while but learning the theory and practical from a guy who has 30 years experience was priceless. Anyway, just wanted to say I’m happy that there are other female metal nuts out there like me!

    Like

    1. Yeah, I think that welding would give me a different perspective on how to put things together. Most of the trade school courses here make you buy your own equipment before taking the class, but the Guild class is taught by someone who lends you the equipment (ie helmet) so that you can try it before hand to see if you like it.

      And yes, the internet is good at helping us few female metalheads connect!

      Like

  2. I’m coming at it from the opposite direction, I think – I’m finally starting to feel comfortable with the welding and now I want to learn how to solder the fine stuff. (Being interested in jewelry-making is how I found your blog, actually.) I’ve got an ear out for local jewelry-making classes but I haven’t found anything that fits my schedule yet.

    Like

    1. Jewelry soldering is basically just very small scale brazing, so you should be able to pick it up in no time.
      Wow, I checked out your blog and it’s pretty cool! I love your header image :^) I’ll read more later when I have more time to peruse.

      Like

Comments are closed.