Interview with Jeweler Kate Sargeant

All the Colours Fade to One ©2010 Kate Sargeant 21 piece necklace, each piece removable for independant wear. Reclaimed sterling silver, copper, labradorite, smokey quartz. photography by Samuel Lintern

For March, I’ve chosen a jeweler who I came across through Crafthaus.  Kate Sargeant makes gorgeous necklaces and I just had to share her with you!

1. How did you get started in your craft? (using your media)

I began studying as a Product Designer at University in Brisbane, Australia, but instead of doing the computer drawings I was always making the models with my hands. Then, on a semester exchange at ACAD in Calgary, Canada where I was introduced to glassblowing and silver-smithing I realised what my true love was, and I was finally allowed to use my hands to create my designs!

After a trip to Cuba it was apparent that there was enough products in the World; that we can instead reuse, re-invent and continue life instead of consume, consume, consume. The words ‘everything is devoured, nothing is savoured’ have become my driving force. My silver is all reclaimed from coin collections that are out of collective value. No energy is used to recycle the metal and no metal is being made to fill the void. I create pendants and brooches from rubble, gathered from houses that are to be demolished. There is so much beauty and buried treasure out there, it is a special feeling to discover it and re-present it to the world.

SunShield brooch/pendant ©2010 Kate Sargeant recycled sterling silver, copper

2. What has been inspiring/influencing your work lately?

European architecture and the isolating feelings of being in a new city surrounded by a new language have been driving me to create new works with more structural forms and ‘out of place’ compositions.

I enjoy working with varying textures and metal finishes, my new pieces have been an extension of that and quite enjoyable to explore through new materials.

3. Who are your favorite artists in your field?

The works by William Spratling in the 1940’s and beyond continue to influence my approach to jewellery making and the characteristics of my designs. I love the energy and sweet, lively characters that he brought to life through traditional techniques.

There are too many current artists to list for favourites that I follow, online networking is proving to be great for viewing and conversing with others in the field.

4. What is your favorite piece of art or fine craft that you own?

Sail Earrings ©2010 Kate Sargeant recycled sterling silver

My favourite piece of art that I own would have to a piece of my grandmothers jewellery. It is a lovely old copper brooch; three loop petals with a nice little neat repousse centre detail. It is timeless, simple and not very flashy, yet practical and so special because of the owner. I reminds me how jewellery and metal pieces seem to live forever. They can be shared through the generations and when worn and touched, inspire connections to a similar moment in history, when another quite moment was spent admiring the soft smooth lines of a crafted item.

To find out more info, visit Kate Sargeant’s website, connect with her on Facebook, and soon you can purchase her work on Etsy.

One thought on “Interview with Jeweler Kate Sargeant

Comments are closed.