What I’ve Been Reading

Jim Butcher
Jim Butcher Image via Wikipedia All his books are great, especially the Dresden Files series.

Because I know that you guys just want to know every little detail about my life, today I’m listing some of the recent books I’ve read.

  • Crossfire by Dick & Felix Francis – I really like Dick Francis’ mystery books, but the last few that were co-written with his son just don’t do it for me.  I knew who the bad guys were as soon as I met them in this book.
  • Just Kids by Patti Smith (d’uh I just reviewed it)
  • Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett – This was the right time frame for me and the idea of a book centered around the building of a cathedral sounds appealing, but it was waaaaaaay too soap opera-y for me.
  • Brewing Up a Business by Sam Calagione – Business book written from the perspective of a craft beer brewer.  It was pretty interesting.
  • The Stupidest Angel by Christopher Moore – This was the last book of his that I had yet to read.  I love his books and if you like paranormal, humorous, and thriller type books, you need to check him out.
  • The Land of Laughs by Jonathan Carroll – This author was recommended by Neil Gaiman and so I had to check him out.  This is I think his first novel and it really held my interest and had an interesting plot, but the ending was sudden and somewhat unexpected.  I would definitely read more of his books.  The characters and situations seemed real even when they were really weird.

In case you’re wondering what I’m reading next, I have Side Jobs by Jim Butcher and Towers of Midnight by Robert Jordan/Brandon Sanderson on request from the library and Enchantment by Guy Kawasaki (that’s right, before it’s official release!) waiting in the wings.

3 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading

  1. Nice list! I’m with you on Jim Butcher and Christopher Moore. Thanks for the recommendations; I’ll check them out (and probably pass on Pillars!) 🙂

    Like

  2. Always like to have titles and authors to add to my queue. I’ll be sure to look at some of them., thanks for the list! I read Pillars too, and enjoyed the richness of the writing which was sorely lacking in the TV mini series.
    Cormack McCarthy’s The Road was disturbing, yet an important work, I feel.
    Harlen Coben is a manipulative master. I enjoy his thrillers.
    For non-fiction, Freethinkers by Susan Jacoby is an interesting read.
    Now, if I can just stay away from here long enough to tackle my list…;)

    Like

Comments are closed.