The Wraith – A Scary Story for Halloween

Jack-o-latern
Image via Wikipedia

It’s the time of year when people turn to all things spooky.  I personally love Halloween – the costumes, eeriness, ghosts, etc.  It’s when the days get shorter and we fill the long nights with scary stories and horror movies.  It’s the time of year we face our fears and confront death. Today I’m going to tell a story about a creepy house in my neighborhood.

My neighborhood is like many suburban developments.  Cul-de-sacs, similar house designs, “normal” families.  One house near me is different.  It’s one of the older houses with large windows over the foyer and in the living room.  At night you can see right into it when the lights are on.

When we first moved in, I would see an old woman who would let her dog out onto the front lawn.  Eventually, I stopped seeing her and the dog.  I figured the dog had died and she just didn’t need to go outside in the morning anymore.  One time, while walking the dog at night, my husband and I saw a young woman outside the house, peering into a basement window.  She then saw us, ran inside and got flashlight, and asked what we were doing.  Of course, the dog was pooping.  But what was she staring at in the basement of her own house?

On another night walk, I looked over at the house and there was someone (or something) looking back at me.  If you’ve ever tried to look out of your window at night while your light was on, you know that you can’t see anything outside.  There is no street lamp near this house.  This “person” followed me as I walked past the house (across the street).  I use the quote marks because this didn’t look like a normal person.  It was very thin and pale, with stringy, colorless hair and giant, dark eyes that stared out of a head too large for it’s emaciated frame.  As it followed my movements, it leaned back at an unnatural angle to keep me in it’s line of vision.  It had to lean backward over a half wall that overlooked the foyer a half a flight of stairs below.  And it just leaned back with it’s head turning too far behind it.

This totally freaked me out.  What I saw wasn’t human.  I don’t know what it was.  To this day I refer to it as the wraith.  Now you might think that I imagined this, that no one else saw it.  But there was another incident.  My husband was with me this time.  As we walked past the house, we could see the wraith in the window, facing us as it straddled a man who was sitting on the couch, facing away from the window.  Once again, it watched us pass the house, following our movement through the dark.  Once again, I was totally creeped out.

My husband saw this.  He believes my story, but he thinks that there must be a rational explanation.  I still walk by this house with trepidation, though I haven’t seen the wraith since.  But I believe that what I saw was not of this world.  I don’t know what it was, where it came from, or if it will return, but I know that it is not human.

What about you?  What sort of scary stories do have (real or imagined)?  Do you believe me?

One thought on “The Wraith – A Scary Story for Halloween

  1. Thanks for the great X-File story : )
    Absolutely. I lived in an apartment where a former tenant had died a few years before I moved in. The interior doors would shake on their own, the stove buzzer (I never touched it) went off one day, and things were moved to different places: I swear I didn’t move them. It made me a little crazy trying to come up with scientific explanations for it all. I found out the woman who died there was an unhappy camper. She was taking her unfinished business out on me. Yep, there are ghosts. when my lease was up, I moved out.

    Like

Comments are closed.