Adjacencies Opening

Last night was the opening for Adjacencies and I had a great time!  The works are diverse, but the pieces somehow work together to create an interesting show.  There are two groups of photographs, pictorial art quilts, fiber sculptures, two very different mixed media pieces (one of which is a collaboration installation), a series of hand-painted serigraphs, two artists doing non-traditional takes on hex signs, and of course, my metalwork.

I got to meet a few of the other artists – Nancy Sarangoulis and Valetta who made the installation; Peggy Blei Hracho, the quilt artist; and Ted Ormai who made “hex signs” using magnetized iron, steel, and paint to create pieces reminiscent of eyeballs.  I also met some metalworkers (unfortunately I missed meeting the the metals instructor for Kutztown University) and I snuck down to the jewelry studio to check it out (ssshhh!).

All in all it is a great show and I’m proud to be a part of it.  The arts are thriving along the Route 222 corridor and Adjacencies does a good job of highlighting the diversity and talent in the region.

There’s still time to check it out, the show is up until October 10th (that’s 10/10/10 hehe).  It’s located at the Sharadin Art Gallery at Kutztown University, halfway between Allentown and Reading in Kutztown, PA.

Gallery Hours:

Tuesday – Friday, 10:00 – 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, Noon – 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.
Monday, Closed

2 thoughts on “Adjacencies Opening

    1. I was actually really surprised when I walked in and saw that wall. I haven’t been able to go to many of my opening in larger exhibitions because they’ve been in other cities, so it was great to be able to visit this opening and see how great it is.

      Like

Comments are closed.