Now is the Right Time

Leopard Jasper Ring ©2010 oxidized bronze, sterling, and leapard jasper - size 9

If you listen to the radio, you’ve probably heard commercials for trade schools and business colleges.  Recently I’ve been hearing one where potential students give excuses about why now is the wrong time for them to go to school.  The announcer then comes on and says something like:

“It’s never going to be the right time, so now is the perfect time…”

Basically, if you wait for the perfect timing to do something, it’s never going to get done.  I’m not a huge procrastinator, but there are things that I put off until I have a bigger block of time, after I get through this next show, or once I clean the kitchen, etc.  There’s always an excuse not to do something.  This recently happened with my website redo.  I kept putting it off thinking I didn’t have enough time, and finally I just sat down and did it.  Even though it took a chunk of time, I feel better now that I finally got it done.

You’re always going to be busy and so am I.  The trick is figuring out what needs to be done and then DOING IT.  What have you been putting off?  Now is your perfect time too.

Bookmark and Share

4 thoughts on “Now is the Right Time

  1. Wendy, how did you get the hammered texture around the stone? Also do you normally make your rings a certain size and why?

    Norma

    Like

  2. Norma – I try to keep my rings between size 6 – 8, though sometimes I’ve made ones in the size 9 range. I did a survey of other jewelers about what sizes were most common, so I try to stay in that range.
    I got the hammer marks by using a 20 gauge bezel and not filing the edge and using an actual hammer to push the bezel down – veeerrryyy s-l-o-w-l-y. :^)

    Like

Comments are closed.