Vincent and the Doctor

Vincent on Doctor Who

I’m just going to say it: I’m not a huge fan of Van Gogh.  It’s true, I’m really just not that into him.  My appreciation grew slightly when I saw one of his paintings in person and you could see the texture of the paint.  But I was just never all that interested in his work.

Then I watched Doctor Who on Saturday night.  In it, the Doctor and Amy went back in time to visit Vincent.  He spoke with such passion about his work and color and the wonder to be found in the world, that it began to change my mind about his work.

So is it weird that watching Doctor Who gave me an insight into Vincent Van Gogh’s mind?  I think it was hearing someone speak about their work with such passion and conviction that changed my way of thinking about his work.  Yes, it wasn’t really Vincent, but it was spoken with an authenticity.  I looked beyond the tote bags and t shirts.  I looked through the artist’s eyes.

Have you ever changed your mind about an artist after listening to them speak?  Do you think that I speak with passion about my work?  Is there something you think that I should be saying here?  Let me know and leave a comment.

4 thoughts on “Vincent and the Doctor

  1. I just saw the movie Red Road last night. One of the main characters was Tony Curran and I thought him a good actor….and here, now, he is again! I feel your passion in every blog, and I envy you your focus and belief and love of what you do!

    Like

  2. I agree. This show made me cry. I haven’t done that since David Tennant. The “wobbly set” production values of this current Doctor Who season fits perfectly with Van Gogh’s Impressionism. But it was Amy’s love for the artist, and the actor’s portrayal of Van Gogh’s emotions that won me over. Please read my blog here at wordpress:
    http://lowiczanka.wordpress.com/
    which talks about how Vincent could see things we cannot..

    Like

  3. It was a good portrayal, wasn’t it? I thought the actor captured some of the torment someone might feel who sees things a little too closely, a little too brightly. How that “gift” might weigh on you.

    I think I felt the same about Ansel Adams. He’s just everywhere. But then I saw some of his prints in person, and took a trip to Yosemite, and began to understand just why he’s considered as good as he is.

    Another example was the Beatles. Never thought much about them until I read an excellent biography, and really began listening to their music. I finally saw the genius they really had.

    Like

  4. Sometimes it’s hard to see how an artist/band/etc would have been viewed in their time or before everyone copied them and put their poster up in their dorm room and all that. Working for the Museum Company didn’t really help me with that. Being surrounded by Sunflowers and Water Lillies just made them seem bland and overdone. And displaying along with the “Painter of Light” just denegraded them. Of course, I don’t think even Doctor Who could make me see the point to Thomas Kinkade…

    Like

Comments are closed.