In Process: A New Collar

The original sketch for this collar

I’ve been mentioning a collar on Twitter that I’ve been working on the past week.  It’s still not done, but here are some in process photos to give you a sneak peak into the making of it.

I started with an idea that I sketched out.  It was featuring a pair of breacated jasper that I had purchased from Tao Gems.  The shape itself was influenced by some of my hammered silver collars from way back when, but I wanted to include more texture and the fold formed areas seemed like a nice addition.

The Jaspers
Sketch for the fold formed silver sheet that I cut the shapes out of.
One of the cut out pieces.

This is as far as I’ve gotten.  The collar was shaped and soldered together, then hammered flat and shaped again.  I have one of the fold formed shapes soldered on as well.  The bezels for the two stones were going along nicely until I realized that one of them was soldered onto the backing wrong side up.  I know two different ways to fix that, so hopefully it will go smoothly (wish me luck).

So far I’m really happy with the progress that I’ve made, and it’s been fun working on it.  I can’t wait until it is finished at which point I can share it with you again!

Proposed Finished Product

Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “In Process: A New Collar

    1. Sometimes I plan in advance to make sure that the pieces will be interesting enough – not too large an empty space, not too many lines converging at one spot, etc. Other times I just let loose and place lines somewhat haphazardly.

      Like

Comments are closed.