Grounds for Sculpture

There were peacocks all over the place there.

A couple of weeks ago I went to Grounds for Sculpture in Trenton, NJ. I wasn’t too excited about it because it was during my super busy week that followed my sick week. But when we got there it was pretty cool. There was a park like setting filled with all different kinds of sculptures. There were metal, stone, fiberglass, realistic, contemporary, whimsical pieces. One thing that got a little old after awhile (at least for me) were all the sculptures that were 3d depictions of famous paintings by Matisse, Monet, and Manet, etc. It just seemed a little kitschy that the artists spent his whole career remaking other artists work. But it was a good day and we had great weather, so I’ll leave you with some photos I took.

Urchin © Howard Kalish
Grupo © Pat Musick
Compression and Expansion (rear view) © Ron Mehlman
Guard Beast © Dana Stewart
Cuckoo's Nest (detail) © Zoran Mojsilov

Bookmark and Share