A Passion for a Great Cup o’ Joe

The other Saturday, along with visiting PCAD’s Senior Show, I went to a Coffee Cupping event at Square One Coffee in Lancaster.  You might remeber that name since I’ve mentioned them a couple of time previously on Hammermarks.  Basically, they offer fair trade, organic coffee and I was a participant in a kind of coffee tasting.  The coffee wasn’t brewed in any normal fashion, just hot water poured over ground beans (both carefully weighed) into what looked like soup cups.  We then tasted four different varieties by slurping it from a spoon.

What’s the point of this post?  I learned that there is a lot of work, trial and error, and pure coffee geekery that goes into a perfect cup of coffee.  At Square One they test roast each batch of beans to make sure they get the optimum flavor.  They even mix their own water to ensure a perfect brew.

Does this seem like a lot of trouble to go to for a cup of coffee?  Not if that’s your passion.  And in this case, it’s paid off.  Square One’s business is steadily growing.  What in your life is important enough to pend all that time perfecting?  What can you geek out on?
Bookmark and Share

One thought on “A Passion for a Great Cup o’ Joe

  1. Wendy, I’m a coffee addict, and I would say I’m passionate about coffee, but I don’t think I qualify for coffee geek status. If it’s dark, rich, and there’s sludge at the bottom, I’m happy. I don’t know about nutty aftertastes. But I plan to stay more informed about Square One events. Sounds very cool!

    Like

Comments are closed.