What Do You Want to Be When You Grow Up?

Fold Formed Copper Pendant w/ Serpentine ©2010 WTEK

Isn’t that the dreaded question?  When you’re a little kid you can think of all kinds of answers.  When you’re a teenager you probably have some answers, but you’re not telling anyone over 22.  They just wouldn’t get it.  As a twenty something, you try to work out what it is you actually want to do.  In your thirties (forties, fifties, etc.), you wonder why you aren’t doing what you always dreamed about.

So what did I want to be when I was a kid?  As a really little kid, I wanted to be a ballerina.  If you know anything about me now, you know how ridiculous that is.  Then I wanted to be a horse trainer.  Even as a child I knew that being a rider meant that you spent all of *your* money and time riding, so being a trainer meant that people would pay me to work with horses.  Seemed like a good deal.

As a teenager, there was a time where I wanted to work in special effects.  I loved Rick Baker and I would fantasize about moving to L.A. and making really gross movies.  Thankfully, that didn’t happen since so much of special effects is CGI now.  That has it’s place, but as you’ve probably figured out, I like making things by hand.

I might have also wanted to be a writer briefly, I don’t really remember.  I recently talked about the different art media I’ve tried.  Then after college, I tried to go back to school to get a masters degree in art history to become a museum curator.  I even was offered a job at the Smithsonian, but then there was a hiring freeze put in place due to September 11th.  Yes, that September 11th.  I was directly thwarted by the terrorists in my pursuit of a career.  Of course, if that would have gone through, you wouldn’t be reading this blog right now, I most likely wouldn’t be making jewelry, and who knows what my life would be like.

Long story short, I decided not to forget about what it was I really wanted to do with my life.  There was a lot of soul-searching and of course I don’t have another job right now to help support my jewelry making (thank my husband for keeping us going!).  But I’m pursuing my dreams.

What were/are your dreams?  What are you doing to try to bring them to life?

Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “What Do You Want to Be When You Grow Up?

  1. I used to dream about making a difference in the world. I wanted to be a teacher for so long and believed that if I could just touch one childs life then I have succeeded. But things change and at 44 trying to go to school part-time, work full-time and part-time to support my partner and myself well it becomes harder and harder to reach that goal. I moved to Michigan 5 years ago to start over and try and achieve that dream. Well 5 years here and I have made so many changes. I took a jewelry/metal class and everything has changed. I love what I have learned and have so much more to learn. I just want to make art and nothing more…lol So I may continue my education but of course my major is going to change or I may learn just enough to become a bench jewelry and art on the side… I want to enjoy my life and keep learning…:0)

    Like

  2. As a kid I wanted to draw comic books. Then in high school after many visits from art schools to art club, I figured graphic design would be best (Plus it helped that I discovered photoshop in high school). I’m still a designer today, only I do web design exclusively. Buy if I were honest, the thing I want to do most is just draw, paint, and get to make a living or partial living creating whatever I want. Hopefully I can make it happen.

    Like

Comments are closed.