April Showers

TulipsAs they say, “When it rains, it pours.”  Working in the craft industry you have stretches of time (for me, usually Winter) where not a lot is going on.  Conversely, busy times tend to be condensed into intense sessions where twenty things are going on at once.  I’m coming to the end (hopefully :^) of one of those times right now.

Three weeks ago, I had the Fine Arts Day at Lititz Elementary.  Last weekend (forthcoming post shortly) was my first ever workshop that I taught.  This weekend is my first craft show of the year, the PA Guild of Craftsmen’s Spring Craft Market going on in conjunction with Lancaster’s Spring Art Walk weekend.  As if this wasn’t enough, I’m getting my Etsy store up and running, waiting to hear back on a couple of exhibitions before applying to another, still waiting to hear back about another craft show, and designing a new booth.  Then there’s all the normal stuff I have to work around like LDC board meetings, CHL events, family & friends, blog posts, chores, etc.  Oh yeah, and find time to actually make jewelry!

As long as I plan effectively and keep my lists and calendar up to date, I do OK.  Sometimes I even thrive.  Being busy means that you’re getting stuff done (at least in this case) and you don’t have time to worry about unimportant or unchangeable stuff.  It’s probably better that I had so much going on in conjunction with Fine Arts Day and the workshop.  It gave me constructive things to do to keep my mind off the unfounded anxiety surrounding those events.  In this case April Showers really are bringing May Flowers.  This stress is the good kind.

So what about you?  Are you better in a drought or a deluge?  Is your April crazy or relaxing?  Let us know.
Bookmark and Share

One thought on “April Showers

  1. My April is ramping up to be a bit crazy! My first show of the season, where I have my booth set up, is this weekend 4/17-18. Fortunately my husband & I are sharing the booth, which leads to sharing responsibility of getting there, set up & take down, along with sales(hopefully)!

    An exhibit the end to the month with an opening reception (4/30) and it just continues into May. Busy is good, but like you said, finding time in the studio to create can be a bit rough.

    Saw our first crocus blooms yesterday! Yay!

    Like

Comments are closed.