Some Questions From the Kids

I mentioned that when I did the Fine Arts Day at Lititz Elementary that the kids asked some good questions.  Here are some of the highlights:

  1. Do you use any materials other than metal?
  2. Do you make anything other than jewelry?
  3. Did you ever think about making a shield? (This was one of my favorites.  That kid caught the vibe of my work!)
  4. What’s the biggest piece you ever made?
  5. What was your most challenging piece?
  6. What’s your favorite piece?
  7. Do you work in a jewelry store or on your own?
  8. How did you fall in love with making jewelry?
  9. How long have you been doing this?
  10. How old are you?
  11. How much does your jewelry cost?

Some of my answers:

3. Yes, I’ve though of making a shield (it involved wood, a chased copper buckler, and huge rivets/bolts and maybe deer hide)

4. A giant collar that was the last piece I made as an Undergrad.  It was Egyptian-ish and had an inner collar around the neck and an outer collar around the shoulders.

5. My most challenging piece was probably my leglet (bracelet mad to fit around my calf) due to making it fit (it did) and all of the soldering.  It was a hinged hollowform.

6. My favorite piece is always the one I’m working on now (or next)

10. 34

What are some of your questions for me?
Bookmark and Share