New Artist Statement and Craft Show News

I finally finished my new artist statement. I would love to get your feedback on it, so please let me know what you think. If you find problems, omissions, or things you think are great about, please leave a comment.

Metal.  To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable.  But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again.  It is both industrial and organic.  Through processes such as fold forming, forging, and riveting, I am able to work with this dual nature, to connect with my materials.

These techniques have also allowed me to explore texture and pattern in new ways.  To bring more depth to my work, I use layers, folds, and textures on the metal.  Using rivets rather than soldering pieces together puts focus on the different parts that make up each piece.  They give a physical presence to the joining, a reminder that someone chose these parts to make a whole.

So, what do you think?

I also have some great news.  I have been accepted into all four of the PA Guild of Craftsmen’s Fine Craft Fairs this year!  As each show comes up, I’ll give you more information.  The first one is April 17th & 18th in conjunction with the Lancaster Spring Artwalk, so that would be a great time to have a Lancaster, PA art getaway!

What, you can’t wait until April for the chance to purchase my work? I just opened a store on Etsy to make it easier for you find me online.  I’m slowly building it, so check back for more listings.

Jewelery & Metalsmithing by Wendy Edsall-Kerwin on Etsy

Bookmark and Share