Museums & Exhibitions That Have Inspired Me

Here is a list of different museums and exhibitions which have inspired me.  The museums listed have wonderful metalwork collections, some large, some smaller, and the exhibitions had work which took my breath away.  While the exhibitions may be inaccessible to you, I do recommend checking out the museums.  And let us know some of the museums and exhibitions that you have enjoyed!

  • The National Museum of Ireland in Dublin – They have an extensive collection of prehistoric Celtic gold, viking, and early medieval metalwork.  I was lucky enough to visit twice and I’d go back again in a heartbeat!
  • Museum für Vor – und Frühgeschichte in Berlin – Here I saw a collection of work from the Continental Celts that was an interesting juxtaposition with the work in Ireland.
  • The Walters Art Museum in Baltimore , MD – Here you can find an extensive collection of work from the early through late Middle Ages, including a wonderful collection of Limoges enamels and illuminated manuscripts.  Not a cheap entrance fee, but worth every penny!
  • The Cloisters/The Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC – You didn’t think that I would leave this one out, did you?  The Cloisters have one of the best collections in the world of Medieval works and the Met has one of the best collections of work anywhere.  And yes, I’ve been to the British Museum and still like the Met better.  Slightly.
  • The Calder Jewelry Exhibition I saw at the PMA in 2008.
  • Scythian Gold exhibition I saw many years ago at the Smithsonian in Washington, DC
  • Art Nouveau exhibition I also saw at the Smithsonian in DC in what looks like the same year according to the magazine.

Of course there are many other museums and exhibitions I have visited that I love, but there isn’t enough room here to list them all.  I focused instead on those that had impressive metalwork, and still didn’t include others that I should have.  But you need to go explore on your own!  Which ones do you think I missed?  Which ones do I need to check out?  Leave a comment and let us all know.