I Need Your Help!

Fold Formed Cuffs
Fold Formed Cuffs ©2008 WTEK

I know that things are probably pretty busy for everyone right now, but I was wondering if you could help me out with a project I’m working on. I am trying to describe my jewelry so that people can better understand it. It would help me to get feedback from from you, and it doesn’t have to take up a whole lot of your time. I’m not looking for anything in particular, there are just certain things that I don’t always think to talk about when I write about my work.  Don’t feel intimidated if you aren’t a jeweler.  The less you know about jewelry making, the better you might help me describe my work to other people.

If you would like to help me out with this, please look at my work online (http://www.hammerstrokeandfire.com/HammerstrokeandFireGallery.htm) and then try to answer any of the following questions that you can. Please do not censor yourself or worry about my feelings. I need honest feedback. I may also ask some follow up questions.  You can either leave comments here on this post, or email me if you would like it to be more private.

1) What do you find most interesting about my work?

2) What do you find least interesting? distracting? puzzling?

3) What would you like to know about how it was made?

4) Is there anything you would like to know about me or my background?

5) Does it remind you of anything in your life? Or recall a memory for you?

Thank you for your time, I really appreciate it!

5 thoughts on “I Need Your Help!

  1. Thought I would help out!
    5) It reminds me of a more ancient time when life was slower and technology had not invaded our lives. (and you can use that too!)

    4)Where do you draw your inspiration from but please not one of those odd, gushy artists statements about saving the world and making it a better place ;=)

    3) Metals used (done), where the stone is from – location in the world. And inspiration behind the piece if there was one. Year made.

    2) I find it puzzling that in the Gallery, it does not say if the item was purchased or if avail, there should be a link to your store.

    1) It is very “non-shiney” – matt surfaces and it invokes in me a very primative feeling.

    Like

  2. Hi Wendy,

    I have been thinking about this for a couple of days now….ever since I first saw this post. I wanted to think about it to give you what I hope is a good assessment.

    1) The thing I find most interesting about your work is how you create the folds and that gives almost a fabric like quality to it. It’s industrial yet delicate because of the shapes you forge with the folded metal.

    2) The most puzzling to me is the is the repurposed paper clips….I just wonder how one could wear it without being pricked by the ends. It’s hard to tell online, but that is the only one of your pieces where I would have concerns about wearing it.

    3) I enjoy knowing what brought a piece into your mind’s eye and ultimately to the finished product. What generated the idea? Did it change as you created the piece? Does it represent anything special to you or in your life? I enjoy knowing the personal side of a piece from the artist.

    4) I think you are very good about sharing information about yourself and have that documented here and on your website.

    5) Some of your pieces remind me of knights, castles, and ladies….they conjure up a nice Medieval look for me, like Spirit, Water, and Wood in your Elements Series.

    Hope this is helpful. I’m looking forward to seeing what you create in the new year.

    Like

    1. Thanks Kathleen and Laurie for helping out! Based on what both of you and some email commentors have told me, I need to talk more about what inspires my pieces. And yes, Kathleen, the paperclips do stick you a bit when you wear Clipped! I made it with a specific idea to repurpose the paperclips and was inspired a bit by 60s/70s weird wall art I had seen before.
      As for the gallery itself, Laurie, I’m in the (slow) process of adding my online shop to my website, and the gallery page was originally supposed to be just that, a showcase of work that I had made, not a sales venue. That is all slowly changing, and will hopefully be much better soon! Also, as per the artist statement, that is what this exercise is helping me with ;^)
      Both of you have helped me and I love what you have said about my work! Thank you so much and I hope to get some more input from other people as well.

      Like

  3. wow. I am so glad that I clicked on your link from 52 weeks. Your jewelry is a.maz.ing! I’ve never seen anything like it.
    The words that come to mind are:
    other-worldly
    fabric-like
    organic
    industrial
    patina
    brushed
    textured
    dimensional

    I really struggled with my ‘mission’ for the week #1 assignment too. I just wound up stating my 2 goals for the year / my blog: appreciate & experiment and how I will work at achieving these goals. (photo a day and designate fridays as my ‘experiment’ day). http://www.crystalynkae.com/blog/?p=484

    I really, really loved the blog post that showed a piece step-by- step on it’s way to completion. Your jewelry is so intricate and involved, yet somehow looks organic and like it just ‘melded’ together so perfectly – that your post really helped me appreciate your work even further!

    My only other comment is that you should seriously set up an etsy shop ASAP. (in addition to your own website) It’s super easy and I think people would freak about your designs – and you’ll get more exposure from other blogs that discover you that way!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your help and your nice words! I’m really enjoying the 52 Weeks so far. I need to make some more time to go through the forum and check out more of the participants.

      Like

Comments are closed.