Art Every Day Month 2009

Earth--Day-of-the-Dead
My Day of the Dead card from last year's AEDM

You may remember that last year during November I participated in Leah Piken KolidasArt Every Day Month project.  It was so much fun (and challenging) that I’m doing it again this year!  Once again, I’m focusing on non-metal creative endeavors, but instead of doing one big project (like last year’s Inspiration Cards), I’m doing daily projects.

I’ve decided to do two daily thins to boost my creativity.  First, I’m going to take my camera everywhere. Yes, everywhere.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been in the car or on a walk and I see something and think, “If only I had my camera!”  Just last week it happened at least three times.  I don’t know what I’m going to do with all these photos, but that’s the great part about digital.  DELETE.

Second, I’m going to do a doodle a day.  I have a stack of index cards that’s been sitting around for years now that needs a job.  Each day, preferably in the morning, I’m going to do a doodle, sketch, or full on drawing on one of these cards.  It might end up being a quick line drawing, something I’ve been thinking about for my jewelry, or a pointillist masterpiece (OK, probably not that last one, but I can dream!).

Both of these ideas came about because I actually went to art school not to be a metalsmith, but for drawing or photography.  I ended up being neither, though I do take my own photos for submissions and I still like to take photos.  I just wanted to get back to my roots and focus on doing something completely different than what I do in the studio.  I’m hoping that it will help refresh my metalwork somewhat, and in general just get me more in the habit of creating.

What do you think of my project?  Do you want to join me?  Go check out Leah’s site and sign up.  It’s totally no pressure, but you can also get her Art Every Day Month Survival Guide if you want a little extra push.  You can choose anything that you want.  Go ahead, you know you want to…

3 thoughts on “Art Every Day Month 2009

  1. Yay! How exciting! I love having my iphone with me everywhere because I’m often in that same position of wanting to take pictures wherever I go. I’m sure having your camera with you will bring you loads of inspiration.

    Thanks for the mention, Wendy! It’s going to be a fun month!

    Like

  2. I’ve been trying to take a photo every day this year. I’ve not quite managed it, but it’s a very interesting project.
    I like the idea of your daily doodles as well 🙂

    Like

  3. I have been thinking about trying a sketch or doodle more accurately (in my case) every day for a while too. It would have to be good for developing SOMETHING. Let us know how you go with your resolutions.

    Like

Comments are closed.