The Horror

Saturday I was all set to go into the studio and whip out a few cuffs.  OK, I actually was all set to do it in the morning, but after doing some chores, making lunch, and the weather changing, I wasn’t all that into it anymore.  This has happened

Here is a mugshot of the offender.  The toothbrush is for size comparison.
Here is a mugshot of the offender. The toothbrush is for size comparison.

before.  I just force myself into the studio and start making and then I get in the mood.  Well, this wasn’t the case this time.  The Universe wanted me to know that Saturday was most definitely not my day to work in the studio.  While texturing silver, the piece slipped and my thumb found itself the victim of my big old sledge hammer.  I cried like a girl as soon as I was able to get up and move to the bathroom and wash it off.  NOT A GOOD DAY!   Here are some photos of what happens when good hammers go bad.  (Unfortunately for you, I didn’t take any photos directly after the incident when blood was all over my hand.)

The nail is cracked almost the whole way across
The nail is cracked almost the whole way across
The side is cracked and bleeding
The side is cracked and bleeding
Double Giant Bloodblisters!
Double Giant Bloodblisters!

The moral of this story is, get focused before busting out the sledge hammer.  If this does happen to you, decide whether or not you need to go to the ER or a doctor and get stitches.  Do this if there is any doubt!  Or if you thing you broke a bone!  I could move my thumb even though it had a lot of pain if I put any pressure on it, and the bleeding stopped once I washed it and put some band-aids on it, so I chose to stay home.  I iced it the entire rest of the day, and was able to avoid most of the swelling.  I also took some ibuprofen for inflammation.  Surprisingly, I only got the blood blisters and no other noticeable bruising.  Today  finally feel like I can put a little pressure on it, so I’m hoping to be able to have a studio day on Thursday.  Cross your fingers for me (because I sure can’t ;^)

4 thoughts on “The Horror

Comments are closed.