As an Added Bonus…

Recently I posted a thread on LinkedIn asking a collectors group what sort of extras have artists given you that really resonated with you.  So far I’ve gotten one response (so put your two cents in either there or in the comments here).  This is a subject that keeps coming up for me recently.  One of the newsletters I get (I think it was Robert Genn‘s, but I can’t seem to find it now that I go back) was talking about adding a nice certificate to the back of your works.  Alyson Stanfield mentions providing extras or gifts for your collectors in both her book, I’d Rather Be in the Studio, and in her Cultivating Connections class.  And everywhere I look people are talking about the book, Free: The Past and Future of a Radical Price. (I haven’t actually read it yet though.)

Square Ones French Roast
Square One's French Roast

I’ve given away some things here on the blog and through a mailing list promotion that I did last year, and I’ve been thinking about it again, but I haven’t decided how to do it yet.  (I’m thinking about a treasure hunt format.)  I know that I always enjoy getting free stuff.  Last night I bought two pounds of whole bean coffee from Square One in Lancaster, and they gave me a free cup of coffee (Thanks guys!) and that really made my day.

What are some things that you’ve given away to your patrons/collectors/clients?  What are some of the best free things that you’ve received?