Magpie Me

Rusty Stuff
Rusty Stuff

Sometimes it seems that I’m like a magpie.  They are attracted by shiny objects that they then hoard (as are crows, raccoons, and trophy wives).  This same affliction affects me, though usually the objects aren’t shiny, but rather rusty and decrepit.  I have a jar that houses these rusty things that I one day hope to turn into some sort of art project.

I also collect feathers, stones, and insect wings.  Here is a bag with my previous findings:

Bag o' Feathers and Wings
Bag o' Feathers and Wings

My most recent find was a spring that was crushed and was shaped a little like a goat horn:

Smushed Coil
Smushed Coil

My favorite thing that I found recently was a teeny tiny piece of pyrite.  I actually found it while walking the dog at night.  My flashlight shined onto something that had a warmer glow that the usual pieces of quartz in the macadem, so I picked it up. Lo and behold it was a piece of pyrite!

This pyrite is about the size of my pinky nail
This pyrite is about the size of my pinky nail

Some other recent finds are:

Cicada Wings (no insects were harmed)
Cicada Wings (no insects were harmed)
Some New Feather Finds
Some New Feather Finds

What have you found lately?

2 thoughts on “Magpie Me

  1. oh I love cicada wings, and I envy you your jar of rusty stuff. My friend has offered to take me to an auction, where apparently boxes of rusty stuff are to be had! I can’t wait.

    Like

  2. beautiful finds!! I found and kept a feather recently, other things I’ve just noticed and left behind. it’s so fun to see what others collect! love the colors in your groupings.

    Like

Comments are closed.