Visual Texture

Texture in the piece, texture in the background
Texture in the piece, texture in the background

I’m always looking for new patterns, interesting stones, weird textures to use in my work.  I love the feel of smoothly sanded metal (I’ve been known to rub it against my cheek like a baby blanket), but I rarely use it.  I want my pieces to have a visual texture, a roughness, something to catch the eye.  That’s why I like fold forming – creating deep creases and clefts, hard lines and flowing edges.  I like my work to have a depth, a structure to it.

What sort of textures are you drawn to?  The rough feel of sand, the smoothness of river stones, the glassiness of ice?  What do my textures remind you of?  I had another artist at a show tell me my pieces had an earthy industrial sense to them.  I always liked that description.  That was the juxtaposition I used in photographs when I was in school.  Rusting steel found in the middle of nature.  That rough crumbly sense of rust is something that I’m drawn to and influences some of the textures in my pieces.

My work wasn’t always that way.  I have a number of pieces that I made while in school that had flat, smooth planes.  Slowly I began to work the textures in.  Now I can’t seem to stay away from them!

Brass Fold Formed Cuff
Brass Fold Formed Cuff

5 thoughts on “Visual Texture

  1. Hi Wendy,

    I’m really drawn to all the textures in your work. I find them earthy and organic too….I’m certain that is why I am so drawn to them. In fact, the fold forming techniques you employ fascinated me so much that I bought Charles Lewton-Brain’s Foldforming book. Now to figure more out about it!

    For me it really depends on what I’m doing and I have an idea of what type of texture I want to incorporate in the piece as I start…sometimes that changes. One thing I’m currently having fun with is using different fabrics and running them through my rolling mill with the metal. I have really enjoyed the different subtleties with fabrics and metals.

    Like

    1. I don’t have a rolling mill (can you believe it?!) so I have to create my textures the old fashioned way using hammers. This is a very fun way for me to work, but it’s hard to use subtlety with a giant hammer pounding away.

      Like

  2. Love those textures, Wendy! That cool, hard metal against that soft, fluffy background…I can feel it. As a painter, that is a great challenge and something that I am drawn to also. So thanks for writing about it…I can relate!

    Deb

    Like

Comments are closed.