Driving Cross Country

This past weekend I was at the Penrod Arts Fair in Indianapolis.  While the show didn’t go as well as I had hoped, I did end up having an ok trip.  We drove out there and got to see the transition from the Appalachians to the plains, and it was a nice drive.  I really thought that Ohio and Indiana would seem flatter than they did.  (I hadn’t been out that way since I was a young child, so I didn’t remember much.)  There were rolling hills through a lot of Ohio and in both states there were a lot of trees breaking up the flat spaces.

It was also nice because we saw the beginnings of Fall.  Driving through the mountains there were trees changing colors, and the fields of soybeans and corn were changing to yellow as well.  The weather was fantastic and nothing terrible happened to mess up the show.  There just weren’t a lot of people buying.

So I haven’t decided yet whether it would be worth it to go back next year, but I do know that I’ll stay at the Jameson Indy West again and eat at the Chinese place around the corner if I do.  Both places surprised me with how nice they were.  I wasn’t expecting crap or anything, but the Jameson was furnished nicely and the Chinese was some of the best I’ve had in a while (it’s hard to find good Chinese in E-town!).

So now I’ll focus on getting ready to be the featured artist at Veleska in October and for my two remaining Fall shows – the PA Guild show in Blue Bell and Art on the Farm in Manheim, PA.  I hope to see you then!