Notebooks, Notebooks Everywhere!

My mind is sometimes a perilous place.  It’s filled with twists and turns, seemingly unrelated thought paths running side by side.  So it helps sometimes when I write things down so that I can come back to them.  Of course, I don’t keep a journal and I’m horrible at sketching out ideas (they always seem more realistic in my head rather than on paper.)  I do, however, have a Dayplanner and notebooks (currently three in active use) spread throughout the house.  These contain my random ideas, mind maps, drafts of blog posts and newsletter articles, along with the occasional sketch.  I do also have two sketchbooks that I use exclusively for sketching* and keeping track of how much studio time and the materials I use for each piece.

Aaahhhhh! So many notebooks!
Aaahhhhh! So many notebooks!

“Why so many?” you ask.  Each notebook was bought for a specific purpose, either a class, for use as a guestbook, etc. but ended up as a place to jot things down.  Also, they are different sizes, some to fit in my work bag and the big one is great for mind mapping.  The sketchbook duality is because I lost one sketchbook, bought another, and then found the first.  They travel around the house and take turns in the studio.  I plan on only using one at a time in the future.

Think this all sounds jumbled and confusing?  You should peek inside my head sometime!  How do you keep track of all your thoughts?  One big book?  A PDA or laptop?  A tape recorder?  Leave a comment about why that works better for you.

* I know I said that I’m horrible at sketching.  I usually draw out a minimal sketch with a lot of written description just to remind me of what my imagined piece looks like.  You can see more from inside my sketchbooks here.

5 thoughts on “Notebooks, Notebooks Everywhere!

  1. I’m trying to find a system that works for me. I’m using “notes” on my iphone a lot and also voice memos to myself because I often come up with ideas that want to remember either when I’m driving, or engaged in mindless tasks at work, and I always have my iphone with me. It’s not as cool as jotting them in a moleskine, but it’s what works. I do have the notebook scatter too… but no coherent system.

    Like

  2. I probobly have the same amount of notebooks… under a pile here, at the bottom of my bag, one in my purse- one on my desk… and I usually end up just grabbing a scrap paper in arms reach when I think of something. That usually gets toted around and tattered, then lost. oye! It is a big dilema! i need one permanantly attached to the back of my left hand- with a good drawing pencil tied to it with a string.

    Like

  3. I have finally gotten into the habit of drawing sketches in a journal. My mentor/friend/teacher, Lexi Erickson, recommended getting into the habit of a journal for these things and more. Now if I am without the journal, I will sketch things as ideas come to mind and then tape them to a page of the journal. It does help me to keep track of things much better.

    I’m with you, not all of my sketches turn out as drawn. I look at them as a starting point and as I work on a piece it does evolve. I enjoyed seeing your sketch books and the actuals. Nice.

    Like

  4. Thanks guys for commenting! I use a lot of scrap notes too. Sometimes I keep them, but sometimes they disappear for a long time only to resurface in strange places. I should tape them like you do Kathleen, that would put them more permanently in my sketchbook(s).

    Like

  5. Oh sing it! I am right there with you. For some reason I need each notebook to serve a singular purpose and I haven’t been able to streamline the process. I feel I’m much more productive this way, yet I wonder if I’m just telling myself the story I want to hear.

    This was the perfect post to read today. It completely resonated with me.

    These contain my random ideas, mind maps, drafts of blog posts and newsletter articles, along with the occasional sketch. I do also have two sketchbooks that I use exclusively for sketching* and keeping track of how much studio time and the materials I use for each piece.

    This is such a great idea, particularly the blog piece. I blog like whoa yet almost never make lists of ideas for posts that float through my head. I’m going to try it.

    Like

Comments are closed.