August Artist of the Month – Eric Silva

© Eric Silva
© Eric Silva

I started seeing Eric Silva’s work in magazines like American Style and Jewelry Artist.  But a couple of years ago I got to see his work in person at the ACC show in Baltimore (coincidentally where I also saw prior AOTM Megan Auman and Margaux Lange).  I like the designs in his pieces and I love the combination of metal and organic elements.  He uses hand carved antler, bone, and fossilized ivory in many of his pieces that he sometimes dyes using teas, herbs, and coffee.  I like the feeling of old mixing with new, of organic combining with man made.  His work has a magical feel to me and each piece feels like it has personal significance.

His simple artist statement from his website states:

My jewelry is about self-examination; revealing pieces of myself through artistic creations. I draw my inspiration from the often overlooked simplicity of beauty found in the ordinary.

To see Eric at one of his events this year, visit his website, or you find it at Velvet da Vinci gallery in San Francisco, Calif., the Bellevue Arts Museum Store in Bellevue, Wash., and Poppy in Columbia, Mo.

© Eric Silva
© Eric Silva