July Artist of the Month – Daniel Sroka

Spark (Photo #29) ©Daniel Sroka
Spark (Photo #29) ©Daniel Sroka

You know, I haven’t featured a photographer in this series yet, which is a little strange since photography was almost a major of mine.  Daniel Sroka is an abstract nature photographer who I became aware of through Alyson Stanfield and Clint Watson and have been following for awhile on Twitter.  His photographs are ethereal and remind me of some of the Hubble images from outer space.  They are delicate and flowing and you’d be hard pressed to know exactly what they are actually of.

Here is his biography from his website:

how my career got started

For most of my life, my photography took a back seat to paying the bills. I discovered a talent for graphic design, which helped me pay my way through school and lead to a professional career. I was the original creative director for Yahoo!, where I helped guide them from a quirky curiosity into a globally-recognized brand. But I grew tired of using my artistic skills to help other people realize their dreams, while ignoring my own. So I quit my day job, and focused my energy on my fine art photography.

Where my art comes from

Photography has always shaped how I see the world. My childhood desk was my father’s old enlarger, and I spent many days in our basement darkroom, listening to the creaking of the floorboards as we coaxed images out of the dark. Then when I was 12 years old, I earned my first computer by scraping a hundred years of paint off my uncle’s house. It was like a new part of my brain had woken up. That computer was my first experience with unrestricted creativity: an artistic tool that you can mold to the needs of your imagination. When I combined photography with computers, I felt like I finally found my creative home. Like a perfectly weighted hammer and chisel, the camera and the computer simply feel right in my hands, allowing me to see farther and deeper than I ever could alone.

Want to learn more about his technique?  Want read his blogNow check out (and buy) some of his work.

One thought on “July Artist of the Month – Daniel Sroka

Comments are closed.