Art in My Home

As you might have noticed with all the interviews I had last month, I ask everyone the question “What is your favorite piece of fine art or fine craft that you own?”  So I decided to show you some of the art I have in my house (that isn’t made by me of course!)

A Special Place to Go, print by Bruce Johnson
A Special Place to Go, print by Bruce Johnson

This is a print that my parents bought for me when I was in elementary school.  It’s by Bruce Johnson, an artist who always had prints at art shows when I was growing up.

print by Degrazia
print by Degrazia

This print is in my “Mexican” hallway so the photo is at an odd angle.  This was my grandparents’ signed print (my parents had one also) by the artist, and it just makes me think of my childhood and Arizona.

Dream Fish carved wood sculpture
Dream Fish carved wood sculpture
Digital Moth print
Digital Moth print

Both of these were presents from my mom.  The carved sculpture was by a friend of a friend of hers, and the moth print is by someone she works with.

Blue Crab Plate
Blue Crab Plate
Lizard Vase
Lizard Vase
Mexican Plate (also in "Mexican" hallway)
Mexican Plate (also in "Mexican" hallway)
Squirrel Tile from Red Clay Tile Works ( I bought this one myself)
Squirrel Tile from Red Clay Tile Works ( I bought this one myself)
small ceramic bowls thrown by my grandfather (and a wall hanging of the Kerwin crest that I made)
small ceramic bowls thrown by my grandfather (and a wall hanging of the Kerwin crest that I made)

Can you believe how much ceramics I have?!  I never would have thought that ceramics was what I had the most of, but there you go!

Wooden Face
Wooden Face

He watches over our front door.  We got him at the Celtic Festival in Southern Maryland.

And finally, my newest addition (I don’t even have a frame for it yet!).  This is a print I ordered from Leah Piken Kolidas (the first featured AOTM here on Hammermarks) called Lantern.  I just love her work and can’t say enough about it (though I won’t go into it here).

Lantern by Leah Piken Kolidas
Lantern by Leah Piken Kolidas

I wanted to show everyone the great card she gave me.  I didn’t just get a print, but a postcard and business card with her images on them and she drew on the envelope as well!

So what is some your favorite art that you own?  Blog about it and link back here in the comments section.