Before and After: Views from my Sketchbook

Many times while making a piece, I don’t have a sketch drawn out, but rather an idea in my head that I work toward.  There are times that I do sketch out ideas, and sometimes the results end up completely different.  Here are some ideas from my sketch book and what they eventually ended up looking like.

This is the original sketch for Air. I made it before I ordered the stone, so you can see how that changed the results in the finished product.

Original Sketch for "Air"Original Sketch for “Air”

Air, finished necklaceAir, finished necklace

Next, here’s the original idea for Clipped, my repurposed paperclip necklace.

Clipped sketch
Clipped sketch
Clipped finished necklace
Clipped finished necklace

Here are the before and after of my Shield Necklace #2.

Shield Necklace #2 sketch
Shield Necklace #2 sketch
Shield Necklace #2 actualized
Shield Necklace #2 actualized

These sketches for my crown, Humble Conceit, I believe were made part way through the actual making of the piece.  It was a few years ago, so I’m not 100% sure though.

sketch for Humble Conceit
sketch for Humble Conceit
finished crown, you can see I went for the horizontal elements
finished crown, you can see I went for the horizontal elements

The original sketch for the first necklace in the Elements series, Fire, came out pretty close to the finished piece, just like those shown above.  Some of the sketches of the chain were added after I finished the pendant, but I wanted to keep everything together for easy reference.

Fire sketch
Fire sketch
Fire - finished product
Fire - finished product

You can see in this last comparison how my sketches don’t always turn out anywhere near the finished design.  I went through many design changes when I made my Dwarf bowl.  The original idea came while I was dreaming and got reworked and reworked over the next few months until I decided on a design I was happy with.  Even this was tweaked while I worked on it.

the many incarnations of the Dwarf bowl sketch
the many incarnations of the Dwarf bowl sketch
Ta-Da! Completely different!
Ta-Da! Completely different!

You can see that I stuck with the idea of a bowl suspended, but still attached to a base, but it translated in a much different way.  I played with scale and came up with a much cleaner way to attach it, and it doesn’t rock like it would have in some of the other designs.