June Artist of the Month – Amber Jean

Amber Jean Reliquaries Exhibition
Amber Jean Reliquaries Exhibition

The artist I chose this month is one I only just found out about.  I first saw her work on the smARTist blog’s Friday Featured smARTist.  I love the idea of reliquaries and combining personal spirituality in one’s art, so I was immediately drawn to Amber Jean.

Her large scale installations are intimate in nature, though somewhat larger in scale.  She also seems to lead an adventurous life, so of course I’m a little bit jealous too!  Looking through her sculptures I found totem poles, altar pieces, and boxes that she calls “postcards.”  She seems to work primarily in wood, though she has bronzes, works on paper, and paintings as well.

Make sure to check out her website, her blog, and you can even join her patron club!