Lancaster Spring ArtWalk

Yesterday I got out of the house and went down to Lancaster’s ArtWalk 2009.  It was great!  We went to about ten different places, walked all over the downtown area and saw the mostly complete new convention center and hotel on the square.

One of the best venues was the newly opened Progressive Galleries on North Queen Street.  I had previously met Jonas Hair and so had made a special effort to get to his gallery.  I wasn’t disappointed.  There was glass, ceramic and carved stone sculpture, paintings, woodcarvings, photographs, and 3d images.  There was a lot of art to look at without it seeming crowded or overwhelming.

I made it to almost all the venues I wanted to check out, including Veleska Jewelry, the Lancaster Arts Hotel, and Mulberry Art Studios. We saw some Capoeira dancers on the street and at the Etsy Open Air market in front of Gallery 141 there was a guy playing music.  Along with Building Character‘s movie screening that night (which we didn’t stay for) it made the ArtWalk a multimedia event.

I have to say, not only was it a lot of fun to see all the great art downtown, I was also able to make some new contacts and I found some firebricks that I’ve been wanting for my studio at Building Character’s Art Market.  All in all it was a great day and a fabulous way to kick off the outdoor art season.